Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More


5 Comments

Look! Not Socks!

I have managed in the last few days since I cast off the Lichen Ribbed Socks to NOT KNIT SOCKS.  Shocking, is it not?  The Knitter Bunny, ever with her socks in hand, intrepidly knitting through rain and sleet and snow and snow and snow and snow and . . . erm, ahem, is not knitting socks.  I decided on Sunday after casting off that last pair that I needed a short break from socks, just until the new month started. 

I wasn’t without projects, however, the projects that were already on my needles just weren’t what I wanted.  There was entirely too much thinking involved to consider either the Sunflower shawl (requires re-charting the graduated flowers) or the Celtic Icon Sweater (I’m on the first sleeve, second repeat, still).  This meant casting on for something new, which precipitated the use of two yarns recently stashed that never made it into Ravelry. 

A lovely slipped stitch scarf for a friend knit in Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted “Black Watch” #304 on US 7 needles (Valley Yarns Interchangeable Bamboo).  I slipped a stitch every fourth stitch with a three stitch garter stitch border.  Whew, how many times can I use stitch in one sentence???

IMG_0104_edited

Plus a lovely pair of short fingerless gloves for use in the barn.  I finally decided to use some Cascade 220 Superwash in a lovely red colorway (855) knit on US 6 Clover bamboo DPNs.  I sort of followed the pattern in Ann Budd’s Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns, in my usual fashion I deviated to make them more appropriate to my knitting style and my hands. 🙂

IMG_0107_edited

Next I’m thinking of using some of my own handspun to create a scarf.  We’ll see how that goes.  I may just decide to buckle down on one of the two projects currently in progress.  snort Ok, we all know that won’t happen.  Handspun scarf it is!