Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More


11 Comments

Mittens of the Beast

Ok. First of all. This is an absolutely lovely pattern. It’s well written, a nice easy knit, and fairly quick too. I love the yarn that I used as well. Cynthia helped me buy it a while back, and I have been waiting for just the right project to use it with. These mittens screamed for a red yarn.

But, Kelli,why are you calling them mittens of the beast, when you seem to like them so well? Hmmm, funny story that. Mostly having to do with a thread on Ravelry involving microchips, mittens with flaps, and uber-Christians believing these mittens were a sign of the”end of days.” If you’re on Rav, just use the forum search feature. It’s amusing to say the least.

Anyway, another group I’m in had so much fun talking about the subway mittens and calling them “mittens of the beast” that we decided to have a KAL. I had to join in on the fun. 🙂 I believe that several pairs are in the works and completed by now. I made the pocket big enough to hold a credit card or a bit of cash for when I run into Blockbuster. I can pop my card and cash in the pocket and dash for door. 🙂

Btw, the designer endorsed our adoption of the pattern and even popped in to say “hi.” It’s amazing how much smaller the knitting world becomes when you have such a lovely place to connect.

IMG_0081

Needles: US 4 and 6 Clover bamboo DPNs

Yarn: Spirit Trail Fiberworks 100% Superwash Merino, 200 yds., variegated red

Pattern: Subway Mittens from IK Winter 2007

ps, Helena, look I used the Koala button!!