Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

Still Here

4 Comments

Life has been busy and I’m just not doing so well at carving out time to sit down and blog.  It’s funny how in the early days of the blog I would write posts almost daily and then I settled in to a rhythm of blogging three or four times a week.  I stopped blogging for a few months several years ago and then came back to it.  I’m not even sure how much I really want to blog any more.  It is a nice way to remember what I’ve been doing, but I don’t keep this as a true diary.  I really only show the good parts.  Which makes me wonder if I’m keeping this blog for myself or for others.

I also feel as though the heyday of the knitting blog is gone.  I see very few new blogs, many of the old bloggers are no longer writing.  I wonder, should I keep blogging?  This month will mark 11 years since I first started my journey into the online knitting community.  The blog has been home to my changing life: marriage, two moves, the loss of loved ones, changing loves, my growth as an individual.  I’ve published patterns, written books, learned to can, shared my garden tribulations, and all while trying to take photos and share it here.

My grandmother kept a daily diary as did her mother, but most of the entries consist of “weather was good today.  so and so was sick. no visitors.”  I hope my blog has been a bit more entertaining than that.  All of this to say, I’m not sure if I should go on.  My posts are becoming more sporadic and I feel that I really have to make time to blog.  It’s become more work than pleasure.  What say you, my few remaining blog readers? Is it worthwhile to you when I blog sporadically, or should I hang up my keyboard?

4 thoughts on “Still Here

  1. Oh, I absolutely want you to continue. Please!

  2. Dear bunnygirl 🙂

    You are 100% correct on all counts: grandma’s diaries, busy lifestyle, changes in knitting blogs.

    But you’re also correct that your platinum level readers (yeah, us!!!) still love and adore your clever quips, earnest thoughts & musings, and the cutest bunny photos in the universe.

    It is lovely to see the world through your eyes, go with you on your adventures, and root for you when gardening challenges ( like a million pounds of veg and fruit to preserve or can!!!)

    Ultimately only you can decide, but I would miss it loads, and I think you would as well. You do what’s best for you, girl! 🙂

    Smiles and hugs, Jayne xx

  3. We’re still here! I love seeing what your up to!

  4. IMO, you should blog for yourself. I enjoy your posts. Even if I’m not commenting, I’m reading! I try to limit my on-line time each day & your blog is one I check every week. if you not longer enjoy posting, don’t! If you need a break, be silent for the Summer (or whatever). With facebook and other on-line media, it is a challenge to limit on-line time … if I don’t, I’d never have spare time for projects ; ) Enjoy the day. Whatever you decide, I’ll support.