Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

Drop Cookies of Grandma Slack

So, let’s think on this one a moment.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup molasses
1 egg
1 tsp. baking soda
3/4 cup milk
1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. cloves
2 1/2 cups flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream sugar and shortening in bowl. Add molasses and egg. Mix well. Dissolve baking soda in milk. Stir into the sugar mixture. Add remaining ingredients. Stir until well mixed.

Drop by spoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake for 15 minutes or until brown.

20150130_13271020150130_135022

So, these cookies are made with shortening (I used butter-flavor Crisco), molasses, nuts, no raisins (I don’t like raisins), and baking soda in milk.

This is a pretty old recipe. The idea of dissolving the baking soda in the milk was a new one for me, but I like the concept. The molasses mixed with the spices only mildly flavor the cookie. I like the addition of the nuts, but raisins are nasty, so I left those out. I was tempted to try making these cookies with butter, but thought I should stick with the recipe this time and make adjustments next time.

In the end, I thought the cookies were very good, but very different from what I tend to think of as a cookie. These are not a modern cookie in any way.

Comments are closed.