Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

The Last of the Green Beans

20140806_095823

Yes. Those are the last of the green beans. You might be wondering why. The short answer is: gophers. Pocket gophers to be specific. Those bastards have eaten 70% of the plants that the slugs didn’t eat upon sprouting. It’s been a hard year for me in the garden. I know it looks like I’m doing well. There are posts with so many vegetables coming out of the garden. The thing is, I’m a better gardener than what my posts show.

There, I said it. I’m a better gardener. I’m not one for growing flowers, but I will baby my vegetables along. I’m still learning, but I have a good system. At least a good system for Indiana. Oregon is kicking my ass. Stupid slugs and gophers. I don’t know how to deal with these things yet and it’s cutting into my winter produce stash. Next year, if I’m still in Oregon ( a girl can dream of Indiana), I’ll be taking more drastic measures. I’m also planning an expansion on the garden. And it will be filled with “amendment gold” aka rabbit shit. That rabbit poo is just the greatest thing for gardens.

20140806_095829

On a happier note, the blackberries are coming on strong still, so I keep picking. I think I’m up to 3 or 4 gallons in the freezer again. Maybe I should get creative and juice some.

Comments are closed.