Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

Oatmeal M & M Cookies

20140711_115747

I’ve been thinking about my grandma a lot lately. She died two years ago this month. So, I’ve been making many of the recipes that always made me think of her. This is her cookie recipe.

Ingredients:
1/2 cup buter
1/4 cup crisco
1/4 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 medium egg
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
6 oz. package of chocolate chips
1 cup walnut or pecan pieces (if desired)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Cream butter, crisco, and sugars until fluffy. Sift dry ingredients and add 1/3 at a time, blending until just mixed. Add chocolate chips (and the nuts if desired), and mix.

Drop by teaspoonfuls on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 8 minutes. Test one pan of cookies and adjust baking time accordingly. Allow cookies to rest on cookie sheet for 2 minutes before moving to cooling rack.

To make oatmeal M & M Cookies, I removed the chocolate chips and nuts from the original recipe, then added 1 cup of oatmeal and 1 cup of M & M’s.

Comments are closed.