Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

White Rabbit Chili

As I occasionally post recipes, I thought I would share my recipe for white rabbit chili. I like to serve it with cornbread.

image

Ingredients:
2 cans hominy, drained and rinsed
3/4 tsp. salt
5 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup cornmeal
2 tbsp. canola oil
1 can diced green chiles
2 medium jalapenos
2 onions diced
1 tsp. salt
6 cloves minced garlic
2 tblsp. cumin
2 tsp. ground coriander
1-2 lbs. cooked shredded rabbit (I cook my rabbit in the crockpot for about 4-6 hours or until very tender)
1/2 cup chopped cilantro

1) Blend the can of hominy, cornmeal, salt, and chicken broth in a blender until well blended. Pour the mixture into a slow cooker set on high. Add the remaining can of hominy.
2) Saute the diced onions, jalapenos, diced green chiles, and salt in the canola oil until very tender (8-10 minutes) on medium-high heat.
3) Add the garlic, cumin, and coriander to the saute pan. Cook for 30-60 seconds.
4) Pour half of the onion mixture into the slow cooker.
5) Mix the shredded rabbit (I used about 1 pound because we like a little less meat in the chili) into the remaining onion mixture. Set this aside in the refrigerator.
6) Cook the broth for 2-3 hours until the cornmeal has thickened the soup and the flavors have blended. 20-30 minutes before serving, add the rabbit and onion mixture.
7) To serve, spoon into bowls and top with chopped cilantro.

Comments are closed.