Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

Beautiful Old Lace

2 Comments

At my last Portland Lace Society meeting, Alice brought in some very old, very delicate, very neat lace.  She was given a box of old lace that had been worn by her employer’s great-great-grandmother and those on down.  There were beautiful examples of Duchesse, Torchon, needlelace, mixed Brussels, knitted lace, point de gaze, and some that we had trouble identifying.

Untitled

 

We weren’t sure about the little star/sunburst length in the above picture, but the bottom length is mixed Brussels (if I remember correctly) which means it is made with two different types of lace.  In this case it is needle lace and bobbin lace.

Untitled

 

I can’t remember what kind of lace this was, but I asked what it was meant for and Alice thinks the back of a bonnet.  Ahhhhh.  That makes sense.

Untitled

 

This photo has examples of point de gaze needle lace in the bonnet, Duchesse bobbin lace, and Torchon bobbin lace doily.  I think.

Untitled

 

This is more point de gaze needle lace.  I love the 3D effect for the butterfly with the extra set of wings.

Untitled

 

This is also Duchesse bobbin lace.  Again, I think.

Untitled

 

I think this was point de gaze needle lace too.  It was very fine and had been part of the ruffle on a wedding dress.

Untitled

 

Finally, here is a handkerchief edging, I can’t remember which kind of lace this one was.  It was a very informative day, but I’m no expert on old lace types either. lol   There are more pictures of Alice’s old lace pieces in my Flickr photostream if you are curious.

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Old Lace

  1. That is some beautiful stuff!

  2. Thank you for sharing. So delicate and beautiful!