Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

Prairie Rose Blush Lace Shawl

So, I actually finished this shawl just before the New Year, but I blocked it this week and finally took some photos.  I started knitting this just before I left Indiana and finished it a few months after moving to Oregon.  The yarn is some luscious Briar Rose Fibers Sea Pearl.  I had a limited amount of this as it was an “end” or a smaller “put-up” than Chris’ normal Sea Pearl.  I really liked the color though, so I snagged it at Fiber Fest last spring.

prairie rose shawl

If you’ve knit the Prairie Rose Shawl, you might notice that the edge doesn’t look quite the same.

prairie rose shawl l2

While I would like to pretend that it was intentional, we all know it wasn’t.  I ran out of yarn.  There, I said it.  I ran out of yarn.  I knew I only had 400 yards, but I knit with abandon and the result was shorting myself on the edging.

prairie rose lace shawl close up top

prairie rose shawl close up

Still, it doesn’t look too bad.  So, my fudging it a little and ending it in an optimal spot based on the chart I was in worked out.  Of course, this means that the next time I face the same situation, I will run out of yarn in a very very ugly spot.

Pattern: Prairie Rose Lace Shawl, Evelyn Clark, The Knitter’s Book of Wool
Yarn: Briar Rose Fibers Sea Pearl, 400 yards, bright orange coral (my own color name)
Needles: US 4 Hiya Hiya Interchangeable Circulars
Modifications: Unintentionally shortened the edging. ha

Comments are closed.