Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

County Fair 2012

2 Comments

With everything that has happened, I haven’t had time to knit as I normally do. My output this year has been mostly washclothes with the the few things that weren’t headed for the State Fair. So, I dipped into the stash of handknits from last year to take to the county fair this year (you can do that, items have to be completed in the last three years). So, several of these items have gone to two fairs now.

There was a good turnout in the needlework section, maybe not as rigorous as in previous years, but it was still full.
P7250177

P7250178

Lauren entered her Marelda Neckwarmer (yes, she knit one of my patterns) and received a blue ribbon.
P7250171

She also entered two pairs of tatted earrings which both received blue ribbons.
P7250188

Fellow lace maker, Cathy won Champion in the Lace category.
P7250175

My tatted handkerchief received a blue ribbon as well.
P7250189

My Liblikakiri Shawl (the original) received a blue ribbon.
P7250176

My Luminen sweater (even with the peanut butter slobber from a pup who shall remain nameless) received a blue ribbon.
P7250183

My Mitered Crosses Blanket received a blue ribbon (sorry for the blurry picture).
P7250184

The Lilac Leaf Shawl was Reserve Champion Lace (again, sorry for the blurry picture).
P7250181

The Rosebuddie Blanket was Reserve Champion Knitting.
P7250179

The Ravinia Sweater was Champion Knitting.
P7250182

We also took baked goods, but I didn’t manage a single picture of them. 😦 I will tell you that we had blue ribbons on our Orange Marshmallows, Lemon-Raspberry Pound Cake, Almost Neiman-Marcus Cookies, Chocolate Zucchini Cake, and Orange Chocolate Zucchini Muffins. The cookies even brought in Reserve Champion. I have recipes for all of them, but no pictures. Perhaps when we make them again, I will manage to throw the recipe on the blog.

Oh, and my antique knitting needles were 3rd in their category. So, we had a good showing at the county fair.

2 thoughts on “County Fair 2012

  1. Congratulations — that’s just great! Hope you celebrated appropriately!

  2. Every year I read your state fair entry. Every year I promise myself that I will Knit for OUR state fair next year, and every year I never do. Should I try this promise to myself again and see if I can manage it for 2013?

    BTW, beautiful (and inspiring) work, as usual.