Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

Asterope

2 Comments

Asterope is a lovely shawl. Well written, and the only thing I had trouble with was the crocheted edging. I know how to crochet. My fiber arts journey started with crochet. The problem was that I wasn’t decreasing enough stitches when I attached my edging. I was nearly done with my edging when I realized that something wasn’t quite right. So, after ripping out and reworking the edge, I finally finished my sweet little purple shawl.

Everything was going swimmingly until I realized how many freakin’ points I would have to pin out. I think I used 80 of my 100 pins between the points and the top edge. It is curved, so my blocking wires don’t work as well. Sigh. After crawling on the floor pinning, pinning, and re-pinning, I was very pleased with the finished job.

100_2622

Sadly, my usual shawl-in-the-maple-tree shots will be more sparse this year. The tree was full of leaves, and then we had a heavy frost. It hasn’t really recovered from the indignity of losing 94% of its leaves. 😦

100_2621

The Stats:
Pattern: Asterope Shawl by Romi
Needles: US 5 Hiya Hiya Circular Interchangeables
Yarn: Aracuania Itata Multy, most of the skein, color 1009 Mystic
Modifications: None

2 thoughts on “Asterope

  1. Oh thank goodness you explained the situation with the Japanese maple! It’s a gorgeous shawl that was worth all that finicky pinning!
    Hope the model maple bounces back next year!