Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

Thoughts

2 Comments

As I come into the final stretch of my State Fair crafting time, I’m starting to feel unhappy.  I have 4 projects left that I believe I can finish before the deadline: 2 sweaters, 1 skein, and a tatting project.  The problem is that I don’t want to knit the sweaters.  The skein I will likely finish.  The tatting will come at some point.  I just feel bogged down by the sweaters.  I want to cast on something new and knit that, not the sweaters that I *think* I need to finish.  This is a problem that I have faced the last two years as well.

As I look over my knitting for the last two years, I find that I am not happy.  My two greatest loves are lace shawls and socks.  There are few shawls or socks being produced.  For the last few years, I have been planning and knitting for the State Fair as soon as it is over.   It’s a bit like always studying for the standardized test in school.  You may pass the test, but find yourself failing your classes.  I have been failing myself by forcing myself to knit more sweaters and fewer of the projects I love.

I like most of the sweaters I have knit.  I even find myself excited to knit some of them, but I am making the change after this year.  No more knitting for the State Fair.  I am going back to what I enjoy most: lace shawls and socks.  This doesn’t mean that I won’t be knitting sweaters, but it does mean that I am going to knit more projects that I enjoy and not worry so much about what I’ll enter at the fair.

And, yes, I am stating this on the blog so that you will hold me to it.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts

  1. You know, you can opt to enter anything in the Fair that you want. Freestyle it for a year and see what happens. Knit what makes you happy and I bet you will do great!

  2. Um. . . okay? You’re putting an awful lot of faith in some faulty memories here. . .