Knitter Bunny's™ Dutch Rabbits and Yarns

Bunnies and Yarn, Need I Say More

NHM #9

9 Comments

As I was making my Christmas list, I came to Grandma and hit a snag.  What to buy for Grandma?  It’s terribly hard to buy presents for her.  She won’t let me make her any more socks (a travesty, I know!), because she has three pairs and “that is enough.”  I’ve made her a scarf, a shawl, and a blanket. I really wanted to knit something for her, and then the thought of my NHM #9 mittens smacked me in the head. 

IMG_0788

I started these lovely mittens way back in April and I did them a large disservice by completely ignoring them until last week.  It was terrible of me.  Not only was one mitten finished when I became completely distracted, but I had the ribbing on the second cuff finished as well!  There was really no excuse for leaving these mittens as long as I did except to say that I had State Fair projects to knit.

IMG_0786

Still, these are perfect for Grandma, and they are now finished. One more Christmas gift off my list.

ps, I knit these in Apple Laine Apple Pie, Chocolate and Cornflower blue, one skein each; US 2 birch knitting needles; pattern from Selbuvotter by Terri Shea

9 thoughts on “NHM #9

  1. Those are freaking gorgeous. I’ve been drawn to colorwork mittens lately. I know when I find th eright pattern it won’t be long til I cast on.

  2. Those look great. I want to knit a bazillion pairs of colorwork mittens, just because they’re all so pretty.

  3. Wow, three pairs of socks are enough?! This is the first year I’m knitting my grandma anything, so I think socks are all right. But in the future I might take a page from your book. I wonder what kind of mittens my grandma normally wears…

  4. how beautiful! i am always really blown away by colorwork. : )

  5. What gorgeous mittens! And just in time for winter…I can see how they wouldn’t be too compelling to knit in the summertime.

    Thanks so much for your kind words about No-Name :)

  6. Those are gorgeous, Kelli! Knit socks for Grandma, and send them to me! ;-)

  7. Just beautiful and I love the color combination.

  8. Chiming in late, but those mittens are gorgeous.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers